Latest News

UCEN Manchester Student Rep Training

UCEN Manchester Student Representatives were recently joined by the National Union of Students (NUS) President, Zamzam Ibrahim, during their annual training session.

Over 50 reps attended the training and spent 3 hours learning the importance of student voice and their role in the student community. Reps also enjoyed debating key student issues over lunch and heard about our ever-developing Students’ Union structure and societies.

Following training, NUS President, Zamzam Ibrahim, joined the group to share her vision to unite students across the country; discussing student rights, finance and day to day challenges faced by students that require change or support.

Commenting on the session, Jen Roberts, Student Voice Co-ordinator, said: “Students Reps play a critical role in championing the student voice, working in partnership with staff to collaboratively create solutions. The training provides an opportunity to explore this role in more detail and help provide the representatives with the skills they will require, as they carry out their role.”

Students from UCEN Manchester, join the NUS at the Annual National Conference each spring, where delegates bid for votes to lead the student body.

For Student Reps who missed training, or staff who want to learn more about their role, click here: https://youtu.be/LuxY0SYnjqg

 

Student Rep Meeting Dates 2019-20:

Christmas 2019 Student Voice 12pm-1pm:

Date: December 2019

Campus

Room

Monday 2nd December

Openshaw

Seminar

Tuesday 3rd December

Shena Simon

B29

Wednesday 4th December

Nicholls (1pm – 2pm)

305

Thursday 5th December

Fielden

319

Friday 6th December

Northenden

221/222

 

New Year 2020 Student Voice 12pm-1pm:

Date: February 2020

Campus

Room

Monday 3rd February

Openshaw

Seminar

Tuesday 4th February

Shena Simon

B29

Wednesday 5th February

Nicholls (1pm – 2pm)

305

Thursday 6th February

Fielden

319

Friday 7th February

Northenden

221/222

 

Easter 2020 Student Voice 12pm-1pm:

Date: March 2020

Campus

Room

Monday 23rd March

Openshaw

Seminar

Tuesday 24th March

Shena Simon

B29

Wednesday 25th March

Nicholls (1pm – 2pm)

305

Thursday 26th March

Fielden

319

Friday 27th March

Northenden

221/222

 

 

 

Got a question?

Our teams are here to help, whatever your query.